Book Review: Outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Publisher: Dell
Pages: 850

Main characters: Claire Randall, Jamie Fraser

 

Outlander is the first book in the epic series by Diana Gabaldon. I cannot believe it has taken me so long to discover these books! I had heard of ‘Cross Stitch’ before, which is the name that was originally used for the UK / AU editions. (my mum even has these books back on our bookshelf in Australia, and I never even knew!). Anyway, I decided to read the books, after I recently discovered Outlander on Netflix and was instantly hooked. After the season two finally, I couldn’t handle draughtlander, so I had to get my Fraser fix from the books.

So it all begins with Claire Randall, year 1945. After WW2 comes to an end, her and her husband Frank take a second honeymoon in Inverness, Scotland. Frank is a historian, and is interested in learning more about his ancestor, Captain Black Jack Randall. Claire isn’t very interested in a lot of the history, but she has a keen interest in botany. Throughout the time in Inverness, they learn about the standing stones Craig Na Dun, and the mysteries that the stones hold. They go to the stones to see the druids together, and later Claire returns for some flowers she wanted to collect.

When Claire approaches the stones, she hears a buzzing noise, and when she touches the stones, her life has changed and will never be the same again.

She is now in a different era, and she must learn to survive in a very dangerous time for women. She is seen as an Outlander, or a ‘Sassenach’ in gaelic, and she must do her best to convince both the Scots and the English she is not a spy for the other. The story goes on and follows the life that she begins and how she adapts through necessity and survival, but also how she realises that she cannot turn back either.

WHAT I LOVED

I really loved this book because it hooked me from the beginning, and the relationship between Claire and Jamie is one of the best love stories I have ever read about. I think that the author has done a beautiful job showing how these two very different people from different times have grown together, and to what lengths they will go to for one another.

WHAT I DIDN’T LOVE

Not a lot, to be honest. I think perhaps a few parts were a little to detailed and could have been condensed, but on the other hand, I think that is what makes these books remarkable, in that they are so detailed, that they can transport you into this new world and feel as though you are a part of it.

So, if you haven’t already, I suggest checking out Outlander and see for yourself! I give it 5  stars! (4.19 star average on Goodreads)

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Outlander

  1. I love this book! I’ve only read this first one, and it took me about 100 pages to really get into it. Once I got hooked I couldn’t put it down!

    Like

    1. Definitely the characters Jamie and Claire. The TV series is good, but the books are just so much better and I felt that from the get go, I was able to really understand who they were much better 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

