Three Book Reviews 

 

Here are my thoughts on some recent reads of mine. I didn’t choose to read these because they all focus on a similar subject, it happened by chance. These books follow the lives of their main characters who are touched with mental health issues in some way. I find the topic very interesting, especially as this is something I deal with every day, but also having a psychology major, it is something that has always held my interest.

 

So here a my reviews on three books.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

A while back, I read ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky, when I was looking for something that would be an easy read. I had seen the movie a few years back, which I thought was alright, but I wasn’t all that thrilled about. I usually prefer reading books, as I find that they are generally more detailed.

I was pleasantly surprised at how much more I enjoyed the book to the film, and I am very happy that I gave it a go and read it. I like the style of writing, as it is writing in the form of journal entries from the main character Charlie. We are able to see things from his perspective, as an awkward teen discovering himself in high school. As the book progresses, we see Charlie go through highs and lows, and how he handles them. The book touches on real life issues, such as mental illness, abortion, homosexuality, peer pressure, abuse and more.

I read this book about a while ago, and I find myself thinking about it still. I think that it is refreshing to read something that can easily be translated into real life.

The Silver Linings Playbook

Another book that I read with a similar theme was ‘The Silver Linings Playbook’ by Matthew Quick. I know that this has been made into a movie, but I haven’t seen it. I find that after having a baby, time for books, movies and TV is quite limited. This book, similar to The Perks of Being a Wallflower is written from the perspective of the main character, Pat. The book follows Pats struggles and delusions, and I found it to be a heartbreakingly honest depiction of someone suffering from mental illness.

There were parts of the book that I enjoyed more than others, particularly those where Pat describes his therapy sessions. I did get a little bored though when Pat was reliving the football games he attended with his brother, even though they were an important part to the overall story.

I enjoyed this book quite a lot, and to me it seems very much like the sames trials and tribulations that were found in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but being experienced later in life by an adult, rather than a teenager in high school.

The Rosie Project

I read ‘The Rosie Project’ by Graeme Simsion around the same time as the other two books. This is another book that highlights the life of someone who is affected through mental disorders. The main character Don Tillman is a genetics professor. The book describes him to be high functioning with above average intelligence. His character displays the qualities of someone with Asperger’s syndrome. The book so far has followed Don’s experiences in the pursuit of finding a wife. Rather than conventional dating, he creates a questionnaire in which he uses to find the most suitable match for him.

I did like this book, but didn’t really feel like reading the sequel ‘The Rosie Effect’ straight after. I am still yet to read it but it is on my TBR list.

Have you read these books? What did you think of them? What are you reading now? Share your favourites with me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

